PAP2-NA Working with Gizmo!

PAP2-NAPicked up a Linksys PAP2-NA on ebay the other week, got the phone in the mail yesterday. Wasn’t expecting that I would have much luck but I was wrong. Very easy to set up with GizmoProject, http://gizmoproject.com a softphone based service, similar to skype.

The settings used to get PAP2 going with Gizmo were:
In admin view, under the tab Line 1 (or whatever line you decide to use)

Under “SIP” Tab

Stun Enable: yes
Stun Server: stun01.siphone.com

Under “Line 1” Tab

Proxy: proxy01.sipphone.com
Outbound Proxy: proxy01.siphone.com
Display Name: [whatever you want to show up on caller id?)
User ID: [GizmoProject Username]
Password: [GizmoProject Password]
Dial Plan:
*xxT|*1xx|[39]11|<411:18315551212>S0|<:1831>[2-9]xxxxxxS0|1xxx[2-9]xxxxxx|[2-9]xxxxxxT|[2-9]xxxxxxxxx|011x.T
Save!

I got a regular phone plugged in to the PAP2 everything that is in a standard phone line is basically there. Caller ID Dispaly, Call Waiting, 3 Way Calling. On the other hand some differences which are kind of annoying. Instead of being routed to a ‘411’ call center or any local 411 service you land up calling tellme. Which serves nothing similar to ‘411’. I’m unsure of how ‘911’ is handled, and hopefully they came up with some better solution than tellme. Other than that, call quality is equal to standard telephone line but a lot cheaper!

Kevin

4 Responses to PAP2-NA Working with Gizmo!

  1. al says:

    HI Kevin,
    how do you use line 2 from your phone headset? my phone doesn’t have a line 2 ?

  2. Julio says:

    Hi all! Already configure the PAP2-NA, and works well the first hour, but after no longer receives calls, it makes good calls always, and in the pc I see the account as inactive, What can I do to make the PAP2 is always present in the system?

    Please HELP …

  3. kvncortez says:

    Al,

    I dont use line 2 at all I just leave the settings at there default. I have multiple phones but all through 1 base.

    Julio,

    Can you give me some more information on your setup so i can help you debug your problem.

    You can post on here or email me at kvncortez (at) gmail (dot) com

    -Kevin

  4. Julio says:

    Kevin, yesterday (14 /07/2008) I sent to you a eMail with the configuration of the PAP2-NA, which after 1 hour no longer recive calls, I appreciate you the interest in my problem, but I resolved, in the firewall empowering the UDP port 5060 and 5061, and already receive calls.

    AL, you can use the PAP2-NA with the 2 lines in Gizmo without problem, using the settings described above.

    eMail: julio_gamas@tutopia.com

    Gizmo5: julio_tts (1-747-3233-066)

    best regards

    Julio Gamas

Leave a comment